Home Participants



... from Commission's bylaws:

The Commission is an advisory body of RIMSA. PAHO's Director appoints, on a rotating basis, the members of the Commission, to be composed by a Minister of Health and a Minister of Agriculture (from each of the subregions: North America, Andean, Caribbean, Southern Cone and Central America and Latin Caribbean), a representative of food producers and a representative of consumers for each of the same subregions.

The sub-regions are defined as follows: North America (Canada, United States, Mexico), Andean (Bolivia, Colombia, Ecuador, Peru, Venezuela), Caribbean (Antigua and Barbuda, Bahamas, Barbados, Dominica, Grenada, Saint Kitts and Nevis, Saint Vincent and the Grenadines, Saint Lucia, Suriname, Trinidad and Tobago), Central America and Latin Caribbean (Belize, Dominican Republic, El Salvador, Guatemala, Haiti, Honduras, Nicaragua, Panama, Costa Rica, Cuba), and Southern Cone (Argentina, Brazil, Chile, Paraguay, Uruguay).

Two representatives from the private sector, one of the food producers / processors and other from consumers for each subregion are also appointed. Taking into account the great variety of products and processes, the organizers seeks that  these two representatives represent  the different types of food.

Ministers of Agriculture and Health of Member States that are not members of the Commission can also participate in the Commission's meetings, as well as representatives of financial and international technical cooperation agencies

COPAIA 6 will be conformed by:

SubregionMinistry of HealthMinistry of AgricultureConsumers Representative Producers Representative 
North AmericaCanadaMexicoUnited StatesUnited States
Central America and Latin CaribbeanPanamaBelizeEl SalvadorCosta Rica
Southern ConeChileArgentinaBrazilParaguay


English, Portuguese and Spanish will be the working languages of the meeting, with simultaneous interpretation service.